California Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation Wednesday to increase the state's minimum wage.
AB 10 from Assemblyman Luis Alejo (D-Salinas) will raise California’s minimum wage from $8 per hour today to $9 per hour effective July 1, 2014. Minimum wage will go up again from $9 per hour to $10 per hour, effective January 1, 2016.
"It’s a special day to stand with workers who are laboring for all of us and laboring at a very low wage. Turning that wage into a $10 an hour wage is a wonderful thing," said Governor Brown prior to signing AB 10 in Los Angeles. "It’s my goal and it’s my moral responsibility to do what I can to make our society more harmonious, to make our social fabric tighter and closer and to work toward a solidarity that every day appears to become more distant."
Governor Brown worked with the bill’s author and legislative leaders over the past month to secure passage of AB 10. He was joined at bill signing ceremonies in Los Angeles Wednesday by Oakland by Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez, Assemblymember Luis Alejo and dozens of workers.
California State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson praised today's signing.
“Raising the minimum wage in California means making it just a little bit easier for families to make ends meet–and what’s good for families is good for children," he said. "In our schools, we strive to reach and teach the ‘whole child,’ a phrase and philosophy that have taken on new meaning in this harsh economy. A child who hasn’t had a decent meal or a good night’s sleep isn’t poised to learn to his or her full potential. Raising the minimum wage helps open doors for children and their future. That’s good for all of us, and I applaud the governor and legislature for taking this important step for California.”