.

Why No Obama Outcry Over Killings Related to Quran Burnings?

Debra Pitta-Gilly: “I am sick and tired of our weak responses from our own leaders about what is right and wrong.”

To the editor:

Did the punishment fit the crime?

Let me see if I have this right.  Our president issues an apology for the burning of the Quran, but there is no outcry from him about the murder of our own troops over this situation? 

And what about all of the other Christians who are being slaughtered all over the world because of their faith? Where is the outcry from our president and Senate and Congress and other leadership about this? 

I am sick and tired of our weak responses from our own leaders about what is right and wrong.  I wish our leaders had more guts and courage to stand up for the Christian principles our forefathers of this country and our forefathers in the faith have had.

Debra Pitta-Gilly
Spring Valley

Komfort February 25, 2012 at 12:20 AM
http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/.a/6a00d8341c630a53ef012875a01896970c-300wi
Craig Maxwell February 25, 2012 at 12:26 AM
I wish the same thing, Debra. (But I wouldn't hold my breath.)
Maribeth Bostick February 25, 2012 at 03:15 PM
When your own President bows and kisses the hand of a Saudi King that should explain everything! NEVER before has a President of the United States of America done that! I do believe it is time for a NEW CHANGE because the CHANGE that is currently in office surely hasn't been a positive one!
Debra Gilly February 25, 2012 at 05:36 PM
I looked up some quotes from President Reagan because no matter what anyone thinks about his politics, this man had a way of inspiring people to greatness and at least you knew where he stood. Bowing down to other rulers is no way to inspire people. Here are Reagan quotes from 1983 & 1989. "Let us beware that while they [Soviet rulers] preach the supremacy of the state, declare its omnipotence over individual man, and predict its eventual domination over all the peoples of the earth, they are the focus of evil in the modern world.... I urge you to beware the temptation ..., to ignore the facts of history and the aggressive impulses of any evil empire, to simply call the arms race a giant misunderstanding and thereby remove yourself from the struggle between right and wrong, good and evil." I've spoken of the shining city all my political life…. And how stands the city on this winter night? … After 200 years, two centuries, she still stands strong and true to the granite ridge, and her glow has held no matter what storm. And she's still a beacon, still a magnet for all who must have freedom, for all the pilgrims from all the lost places who are hurtling through the darkness, toward home."
Debra Gilly February 25, 2012 at 05:39 PM
Excerpt from George Washington’s Inaugural Address: “ I dwell on this prospect with every satisfaction which an ardent love for my country can inspire, since there is no truth more thoroughly established than that there exists in the economy and course of nature an indissoluble union between virtue and happiness; between duty and advantage; between the genuine maxims of an honest and magnanimous policy and the solid rewards of public prosperity and felicity; since we ought to be no less persuaded that the propitious smiles of Heaven can never be expected on a nation that disregards the eternal rules of order and right which Heaven itself has ordained; and since the preservation of the sacred fire of liberty and the destiny of the republican model of government are justly considered, perhaps, as deeply, as finally, staked on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people…” Our first President understood God was looking at us. One nation under God...
Craig Maxwell February 25, 2012 at 07:27 PM
http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/291925/why-apologize-afghanistan-andrew-c-mccarthy
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. February 25, 2012 at 07:51 PM
And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise. 32 For if ye love them which love you, what thank have ye? for sinners also love those that love them. 33 And if ye do good to them which do good to you, what thank have ye? for sinners also do even the same.34 And if ye lend to them of whom ye hope to receive, what thank have ye? for sinners also lend to sinners, to receive as much again. 35 But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil. 36 Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful.37 Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned: forgive, and ye shall be forgiven: 38 Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again. ~~ Jesus Christ, Luke 6:31-38
Debra Gilly February 25, 2012 at 08:27 PM
Thank you Vicent for sharing these beautiful scriptures. That is why I love this country, that we still have the freedom to do exercise free speech and freedom of religion without fear of being executed.
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. February 25, 2012 at 11:11 PM
You're most welcome, Debra. I too love my country, but I confess to harboring a lingering fear that the essence of His words are evermore falling on deaf ears.
Debra Gilly February 26, 2012 at 12:00 AM
Ahh, Vincent, I hear you. Take heart "The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it."
art forlife February 26, 2012 at 09:19 PM
Wow, welcome to right wing corner.
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. February 26, 2012 at 11:17 PM
Don't follow you. Please elaborate.
Craig Maxwell February 27, 2012 at 12:27 AM
Don't call Vince a right winger. Them's fightin' words!
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. February 27, 2012 at 02:44 AM
Hello, Craig. Hope all is well with you and yours.
Debra Gilly February 27, 2012 at 01:29 PM
Hey Art. Welcome. I'm really not into labels, don't care for them. I look at things this way, if someone invites you to their home, show some respect and it's unfortunate that someone burned someone's book they consider holy, but the truth of the matter is, you don't kill someone over it. I vote my conscience. Frankly, political correctness in my opinion is just another way of watering down the truth and walking the fence. I will vote for the man or woman that comes closest to what I see as examples of true leadership and if you don't know Jesus, you might want to learn of Him. He is the savior of the world, a true leader and Hs words are truth and they are life and He give us understanding of good from evil, light from darkness. "Then Jesus spoke to them again saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” Now these quotes Jesus did not speak but I like them! "If you don't know where you are going, you might wind up someplace else." “Those who stand for nothing fall for anything."
Komfort February 27, 2012 at 02:36 PM
Does this man know Jesus? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2qulerCQ78 Iniquities, inequities, let's call the whole thing off.
Debra Gilly February 27, 2012 at 04:14 PM
Welcome Komfort. God knows. If he is, God help him, if he isn't God help him. As for me, me and my household we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:13-18.
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. February 27, 2012 at 04:26 PM
Very insightful, Komfort. Good stuff. I think this applies: "This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me. But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men." ~~ Jesus Christ; Matt 15:8-9 Gandhi once noted (paraphrasing): I love your Jesus Christ, but I do not like your Christians.
Things I Learned February 27, 2012 at 05:33 PM
Gandhi had many opinions: “Ours is one continual struggle against a degradation sought to be inflicted upon us by the Europeans, who desire to degrade us to the level of the raw Kaffir whose occupation is hunting, and whose sole ambition is to collect a certain number of cattle to buy a wife with and, then, pass his life in indolence and nakedness.” (collected works of Mahatma Gandhi) 1899: “Your Petitioner has seen the Location intended to be used by the Indians. It would place them, who are undoubtedly infinitely superior to the Kaffirs, in close proximity to the latter.” (ibid) “If I were a Jew… I would challenge [the German gentile] to shoot me… The calculated violence of Hitler may even result in a general massacre of the Jews… But if the Jewish mind could be prepared for voluntary suffering, even the massacre I have imagined could be turned into a day of thanksgiving and joy...” (1938) “Hitler killed five million Jews. It is the greatest crime of our time. But the Jews should have offered themselves to the butcher’s knife. They should have thrown themselves into the sea from cliffs.” (The Life of Mahatma Gandhi by Louis Fischer, 1947) The 77 year old Gandhi to his 18 year old grand-niece about the violence in Bengal: “We both may be killed by the Muslims, and must put our purity to the ultimate test, so that we know that we are offering the purest of sacrifices, and we should now both start sleeping naked [together].”

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something