.

Letter: Stop the Mission Trails Power Plant

Sue Brinchman: "To have a power plant placed side-by-side with this aquaduct and Native American Historic Site is an abomination of our past, and present."

Dear San Diego County Friends and Supporters,  

I thought you might be interested events for this coming week that I urge you to attend, related to Stopping the Mission Trails Power Plant, that will impact our entire county with more electrosmog and other pollution.  

This pollution will blanket our region from an unnecessary, massive power plant being planned for the Santee/Tierrasanta/La Jolla/La Mesa/MiraMesa (State Route 52) corridor. To add insult to injury, it is planned right on the edge of a historic area and nature preserve, the lovely Mission Trails Regional Park.

This is the historic site of the first aquaduct in California, built with Father Junipero Serra's oversight to bring water to the first California mission established by Father Serra in what is now Mission Valley. The aquaduct can still be seen and enjoyed today on a walk through a trail in still-pristine wilderness right in the heart of our county. Native Americans lived in the immediate region, their grinding holes in the rocks still visible.

To have a power plant placed side-by-side with this aquaduct and Native American Historic Site is an abomination of our past, and present.   Several of the important meetings concerning stopping this power plant to consider attending this week are: Tues 6/26 - La Mesa City Council - 6 PM, show up and ask LM City Council to vote to oppose the power plant; Thurs. 6/28 - City of San Diego Planning Commission Meeting - 9 AM - show up to oppose rezoning open land to industrial use; Fri. 6/29 - CA Energy Commission Public Workshop, starts 2 PM, West Hills High School, Santee, CA. (more below on official announcement).

I urge you to join with SaveMissionTrails.org to preserve our air quality, wildlife, human health, and historic sites.   To give you an idea of what is there, from the Viejas Band of Kumeyaay Indians Historic Sites website: http://www.viejasbandofkumeyaay.org/html/tribal_history/historic_sites.html  

Mission Trails Regional Park, only eight miles from downtown San Diego, one of the largest urban parks in the US, offers guided hikes through the rugged hills and San Diego River bed, where the Indians once roamed. The state-of-the-art Mission Trails Visitor and Interpretive Center offers exhibits of the Kumeyaay people and culture. Several historical sites are designated for public view on trails throughout the 5,800-acre park. Grinding holes in the rocks used for the preparation of food can be seen from the Visitors Center loop, and also on the grasslands near the Old Mission Dam.

Cowles Mountain, part of Mission Trails Regional Park, has a Kumeyaay Winter Solstice observatory site, located along the trail of the tallest peak in the city of San Diego. From the eastern horizon, at dawn on the days surrounding the solstice a peak splits the rising sun. The original stone arrangement pointing to the peak was destroyed many years ago, according to Ken Hedges, curator with the Museum of Man, but it has been since recreated, and is a popular hike destination around the Winter Solstice.

Upcoming events:

TUES 6/26/12:
La Mesa City Council Meeting
Tuesday, June 26, 2012, 6 PM
City Council Chambers, La Mesa City Hall, 8130 Allison Avenue, La Mesa
Power plant applicant & opponents present info. The council may vote to oppose.

Save Mission Trails - Tuesday Meetings 7 PM *new time*
June 26th: Carlton Oaks Golf Course, Clubhouse patio. 9200 Inwood Drive, Santee
Status reports/info, meet group members, join the good fight, volunteer.
City of SD Planning Commission Meeting

THURSDAY, June 28 - 9 AM
KEY HEARING! City Admin Bldg, 202 C St.,12th flr, (downtown) San Diego
Initiation of rezoning from open space to industrial for the power plant. Say NO!

FRIDAY, June 29th, 2 PM
California Energy Commission Public Workshop
KEY MEETING! West Hills High School, 8756 Mast Boulevard, Santee

The Mission Trails Visitors Center is offering special pre-dawn Winter Solstice hikes in late December, guided by official Mission Trails Regional Park Trail Guides and Canyoneers of the San Diego Natural History Museum. Hikers are invited to meet at 6 a.m. at the trailhead to the Cowles Mountain Staging Area on Golfcrest at Navajo Drive. For more information call 619-668-3281 or visit www.mtrp.org.

Susan Brinchman
La Mesa
Director and Founder, Center for Electrosmog Prevention

Craig Maxwell June 25, 2012 at 09:11 PM
I understand, Doug. But is it the only such location? I don't doubt that there were "good" (i.e., convenient) reasons behind the decision to build at that location, but, as it happens, there is also at least one very good reason to not build there; namely, that power plants (industrial facilities and the like) should not be built directly adjacent to open space preserves and nature parks. Please don't make me explain why. Now, if this proposed plant is not in such a location, then I stand corrected.
Doug Curlee June 25, 2012 at 09:16 PM
apparently the only one in this general vicinity..where the two lines come in close confluence with each other.. where the plant cold be built swith the least disruption to the area..despite the hysteria being generated over it by some of our local bananas.. doug doug
Komfort June 25, 2012 at 09:31 PM
Peaker plants are proven technology, unlike Smart Meters.
Craig Maxwell June 25, 2012 at 09:32 PM
"Apparent" to whom? SDG&E? And, on the off-chance that it is the only suitable spot, what would it take, I wonder, to shuffle that "confluence" of elements a respectable distance from the park? Am I being hysterical, Doug? Does my opposition to the Quail Brush and Mission Trails power plants make me a "banana" in your eyes?
TMcC June 25, 2012 at 09:43 PM
Dear Mr. Curlee, In this case "logical" is an irresponsible stretch of that word. It is as explained--the site is convenient for the anemic reasons given (higher net profits too). "Need" is currently under review by the CPUC & may be revealed to NOT be so. Callousness toward the human population that is inconveniently close to the site is astounding. California State provides this dire information which I implore readers to consider logically--in terms of healthcare, socio-economic, environmental problems, that will be tendered to society while huge profits go to a select few: http://www.arb.ca.gov/research/chs/chs.htm It disregards life itself to call it "logical" to site that plant near little league sports fields & a high school as the closest neighbors (not to mention sensitive habitat, wildlife and much of East County.) Please read more on this topic and consider the facts and think about them as stewards of the public good.
Craig Maxwell June 25, 2012 at 09:48 PM
Just for the record: I strenuously oppose the virtually criminal and certainly despicable rape of our back country--tens of thousands of acres around Ocotillo and Boulevard--that's currently being carried out (by none other than the Obama admin.) in the name of "renewable" energy. The need for these god*amn peaker plants adds a heaping helping of insult to injury .
Things I Learned June 25, 2012 at 09:49 PM
Burn it all.
Komfort June 25, 2012 at 09:56 PM
Can solar and wind power be legally sold as "reliable energy" on California's grid without an equivalent, one kv to one kv, standby backup system included in the portfolio of the green generator that wishes to sell it?
Kevin George June 25, 2012 at 09:57 PM
Unfortunately being the "leaders of progress" can lead to damaging unintended consequences. We were WAY out front on limiting flame spread in furniture, now we need MORE legislation to prevent kids from getting cancer. No one knows that legislations unintended consequences http://lamesa.patch.com/articles/california-governor-jerry-brown-flame-retardants#comments Perhaps it would be better if we let someone else take over the "breakthrough department" for a while. Or at least until we can afford it.
Kevin George June 25, 2012 at 10:26 PM
Why is your concern for "callousness toward the human population" limited to Santee? How about the humans in Boulevard and Ocotillo or the people in the route of the Sunrise Power Link that bear the brunt of this " green power" project? Is it completely lost on you that this "peaker plant" would not be required if not for the States mandate for clean energy?
Susan Brinchman June 25, 2012 at 10:33 PM
YOUR attendance this week is that 1 thing that can help fight the Mission Trails Power Plant TUES 6/26/12: La Mesa City Council Meeting Tuesday, June 26, 2012, 6 PM City Council Chambers, La Mesa City Hall, 8130 Allison Avenue, La Mesa Power plant applicant & opponents present info. The council may vote to oppose. Save Mission Trails - Tuesday Meetings 7 PM *new time* June 26th: Carlton Oaks Golf Course, Clubhouse patio. 9200 Inwood Drive, Santee Status reports/info, meet group members, join the good fight, volunteer. City of SD Planning Commission Meeting Thursday, June 28 - 9 AM KEY HEARING! City Admin Bldg, 202 C St.,12th flr, (downtown) San Diego Initiation of rezoning from open space to industrial for the power plant. Say NO! California Energy Commission Public Workshop Friday, June 29 - starts 2 PM KEY MEETING! West Hills High School, 8756 Mast Boulevard, Santee ------------------ THE GOOD FIGHT NEEDS YOU TO ASSIST WITH PRESENTING EVIDENCE TO THE CEC OR TO PROVIDE VOLUNTEER HELP (RESEARCH, CLERICAL HELP, PHONE CALLS, RALLY-MARCH, PRINTING/COPYING, YOU NAME IT!) PLEASE CONTACT US savemissiontrails@gmail.com savemissiontrails.org
Rich Smith June 26, 2012 at 02:02 AM
Ms. Brinchman et al, I read the Patch from a little town in New Jersey. Soon, in October, I will be moving to Santee and I read the Patch as often as I can to try to get a grip on my soon to be home town. This power plant is really picking up interest and, although I will not voice an opinion now (After all, I am still an outsider.) I do look forward to better understanding the issue and your postings do help me in that direction. For the most part, the posts on Santee Patch are interesting and engaging. Thank you. See you all soon.
Stephen Goldfarb June 26, 2012 at 02:42 PM
The California Energy Commission workshop scheduled for June 29 at West Hills High School has been canceled.
Kevin George June 26, 2012 at 03:50 PM
You're moving to California?......Voluntarily?
Mary June 26, 2012 at 04:06 PM
Kevin - If it wasn't for solor and wind energy, how many more FULL blown power plants would be needed to keep up with the area's need for electricity? I'm grateful for the mandates. We need to concentrate on storage ability not supplementing ability. Just my opinion.
Komfort June 26, 2012 at 04:34 PM
Watch out for Mary's links Kevin.
Kevin George June 26, 2012 at 04:43 PM
Mary, no, do you?
Things I Learned June 26, 2012 at 04:45 PM
Mandates are cool because then we can build two power plants every time one is needed which will put more people to work.
Save Mission Trails June 26, 2012 at 05:42 PM
Thank you Susan for your input on this serious matter. SMT urges everyone to ATTEND THIS THURSDAY'S PLANNING COMMISSION HEARING: Thursday, June 28 - 9 AM, City Admin Bldg, 202 C St.,12th flr, (downtown) San Diego. THIS IS A KEY HEARING, ATTEND TO DEFEND. More info: http://savemissiontrails.org/meetings/ CEC cancelled FRIDAY'S Public Workshop in Santee. TO BE RESCHEDULED: California Energy Commission (CEC) Public Workshop, Friday, June 29 - starts 2 PM West Hills High School, 8756 Mast Boulevard, Santee. *ONLY THIS CANCELLED*.
Save Mission Trails June 26, 2012 at 05:52 PM
Dear Mr. Smith, Santee is a lovely area, with a community that (obviously) cares! This battle is to keep it that way as well as to preserve the historic and beautiful Mission Trails Regional Park. Do not hesitate to submit your comments/questions to the Calif Energy Commission as this is the stage of the process for doing so. Anyone with interest in this proceeding, near or far, is entitled to do so. Grandparents concerned about Santee grandchildren's health and particularly those intending to invest in the real estate market here would be interested parties. Links with additional information: http://savemissiontrails.org/ http://www.energy.ca.gov/sitingcases/quailbrush/index.html http://www.facebook.com/PreserveWildSantee http://savemissiontrails.org/email-activism/ See you soon--the weather could not be better these days!
Save Mission Trails June 26, 2012 at 05:54 PM
. . . and THIS THURSDAY"S Hearing downtown at 9 AM is ON! Rally at the Admin Bldg at 8 AM. Stop the rezone of open space to heavy industrial! More info: http://savemissiontrails.org/meetings/
TMcC June 26, 2012 at 06:58 PM
The mandate, which I admit I have not read (fully, nor pretend I'd comprehend fully), does not restrict new energy goals to a "need" for power plants. Renewable energy & fossil fuel power plants-- an absolute contradiction, that I know.
Kevin George June 26, 2012 at 08:36 PM
But the fees and taxes will make you long for the winter in NJ.
rudy reyes June 27, 2012 at 01:45 AM
This is now admittedly not a speaker plant! The applicant has admitted to 100% use! They misleading by adding peaker!
Steven Bartholow (Editor) June 27, 2012 at 01:55 AM
Thanks for reading Rich. Please reach out when you get to town (or before), steven.bartholow@patch.com -Editor of Santee Patch
Steven Bartholow (Editor) June 27, 2012 at 01:55 AM
More info on canceled workshop- http://patch.com/A-v6Cw
Steven Bartholow (Editor) June 27, 2012 at 01:57 AM
When/where did they admit to 100% use? New documents?
Doug Curlee June 27, 2012 at 02:28 AM
i'll need to see some proof of that, rudy.. you track record here is not that good.. doug
Reality Sucks June 30, 2012 at 12:56 AM
NIMBY Not In My Back Yard. Grow up folks, and turn off your lights, cell phones, computers, and your A/C. Until then, Get a clue. If you don't use it, it doesn't need to be produced. By the way, hunting used to be allowed in the area where they are going to build (I hope!) that power plant. Who got that changed? You hug-a-trees need to wake up and smell your starbucks. (sorry starbucks, I like you)
Patty Kay Mooney June 30, 2012 at 02:41 AM
http://savemissiontrails.org/2012/06/29/this-is-a-beautiful-place-why-would-you-want-to-ruin-it-by-putting-up-a-power-plant/

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »